Division One — Saturday April 25th 2015

CSFC Logo 300c            


Attendance – 197

A fantastic crowd of nearly 200 gathered at Westwood Park for Cowes Sports most important game in recent history. A win for the home side would see them gain promotion to the Sydenhams Football League Premier Division after a five year absence. Romsey Town were the visitors to the Island and given their lowly position an easy victory for the Yachtsmen was expected. However, as Richie Woodburn and his team found out on Easter Saturday, a new Manager had recently been appointed and their form had been quite good of late including a 2 – 2 draw against Cowes when they arguably deserved to win and would have done had it not been for John McKie’s last minute equaliser.

Following the customary handshakes former Cowes committee member JOHN WINSOR presented the “Supporters ‘Player of the Year’ “ trophy too JOHN MCKIE before both sides and the crowd observed one minutes silence in memory of the Valley Parade(Bradford City) Fire Victims from 30 years ago.

The early stages of the game were very nervy from both sides, Romsey’s Oliver Bailey earning himself a yellow card for mouth towards the Referee. Cowes’ first serious venture forward saw Aleks Przespolewski clip a cross into the six yard box, but Jared Wetherick was not quite able to climb high enough to direct the ball goal-wards. Ryan Gregory sent a free kick to Aleks Przespolewski but his volley back across the goal also went wide of target. In the 15th minute the home side thought they had the lead, however Aleks Przespolewski’s shot over the Romsey keeper cannoned off the crossbar and away too safety. The next twenty minutes flew past with defenders winning the battle until the 40th minute. John McKie broke down the Cowes right before crossing the ball into the danger area where JARED WETHERICK rose to head the ball back across the goal to send the ball into the left corner of the Romsey goal to spark wild celebrations from the home supporters.

H-t 1 – 0

Despite leading at the break Cowes knew that further goals would be needed to kill off a spirited Romsey side. Jez Conway sent a cross into Aleks Przespolewski who saw his shot blocked. Cowes thought they had got that second goal on the hour mark when Aleks Przespolewski sent a free kick towards the bottom right corner of the Romsey goal, but George Passingham dived full length to his right to push the ball past the post for a corner. In the 65th minute Romsey Town failed too clear a corner from the James Butt and JARED WETHERICK took full advantage to nod the ball over the line for a deserved second goal as shown in the seven photographs taken by Adam Pearson.

Credit though too Romsey Town as just 10 minutes later they pulled a goal back to give some people in the crowd a few jitters. Ed Hatt saved well the initial shot but was given no chance as OLIVER BAILEY slammed the ball into the Cowes goal.      Any hopes of a Romsey Town comeback and the Cowes nerves were soon sent packing as just two minutes after the Romsey goal JARED WETHERICK was played in by Aleks Przespolewski and he sent the ball past George Passingham into the right corner of their goal.     Towards the end of the game Romsey’s Josh Harvey fired a shot wide of Ed Hatt’s goal whilst Nathan Lewis twice, Oliver Wilson and Aleks Przespolewski all had goal-bound shots blocked by either defenders or their keeper. Oliver Wilson also had a header superbly saved by the visiting keeper who had too scramble across his goal-line to stop the ball going into his net.

Finally Referee Andy Dine blew his whistle for the final time to spark great scenes of celebrations from everyone connected too Cowes Sports.


Team:- Ed Hatt, James Butt, Jez Conway, Craig Insley capt, Ryan Gregory, Nathan Lewis, Joe Adams, Aleksander Przespolewski, John McKie, Jared Wetherick, Oliver Wilson, Subs not used; Aidan Bryan, Jimmy Wykes, Max Draper, Tom Scovell, Jason Ince.

Referee:- Andrew Dine       Assistants – Antony Cross + Alex Staniforth


1 Team Solent 28 22 1 5 83 38 45 67
2 Cowes Sports 28 20 4 4 78 32 46 64
3 Tadley Calleva 28 20 3 5 86 33 53 63
4 Amesbury Town 28 18 0 10 85 41 44 54
5 United Services Portsmouth 28 16 3 9 68 46 22 51
6 New Milton Town 28 15 4 9 70 49 21 49
7 Hythe & Dibden 28 14 2 12 42 48 -6 44
8 Laverstock & Ford 28 12 3 13 39 54 -15 39
9 Fleet Spurs 28 11 5 12 50 63 -13 38
10 Pewsey Vale 28 9 4 15 44 48 -4 31
11 Ringwood Town 28 9 4 15 42 53 -11 31
12 Downton 28 6 9 13 33 48 -15 27
13 Andover New Street 28 7 4 17 37 66 -29 25
14 Romsey Town 28 4 4 20 40 81 -41 16
15 East Cowes Victoria 28 1 2 25 18 115 -97 5