PRESENTATION EVENING 2014/2015:- Saturday May 23rd 2015

The Annual Awards evening took place at the club on Saturday May 23rd and was very well attended. After a short speech form Club Chairman IAN LEE in which he thanked his Committee and volunteers for all their hard work throughout the year to help keep the club running. He stated that with the new lights now installed and paid for, things on and off the pitch were looking brighter.

He then thanked the Managers and their Assistants for all the hard work they had put in during the season that was rewarded at the business end with the 1st XI gaining promotion back to the Sydenhams Premier Division whilst both the Reserves and ‘A’ team had very good campaigns as well, the Reserves finishing 3rd in Island Div 1 and narrowly losing the Memorial Cup Final in extra time 3 – 5 to Northwood St Johns, whilst the ‘A’ team ended fourth in Div 3.

Prior to the Awards being presented the Chairman welcomed special guest JOHN GORMAN, Secretary of the Sydenhams Football League, to the club to present all the awards.

First awards to be given out were the RUNNERS UP MEDALS to the 22 members of the 1st XI squad as follows(number of League apps):- Ed Hatt (28), Joe Adams(28), Jared Wetherick(27), John McKie(27), Nathan Lewis(27), Ryan Gregory(25), Jez Conway(23), Craig Insley(22), Oliver Wilson(17), Gareth Bricknell(14), Max Draper(12), James Butt(12), Lee Davies(11), Jimmy Wykes(11), Aleksander Przespolewski(11), Aidan Bryan(6), Tom Scovell(5), Joe Butcher(4), Jordan Chapman(4), Jason Ince(2), Tom O’Brien(2) and Alex Wright(1). Others that had played but were not at the club at the end of the season are, Jordan Browne(11), Keelan Sainsbury(9), Enrique Villar(8), Sergio Castellano(7), Joe Phelps(5), Ross Gregory(4) and Dominic Burbidge(1). A big thank you too ALL the above players for the part, big or small, that they played in seeing the Yachtsmen regain their place in the top Division of the Sydenhams League.

The Clubs main awards were then presented as listed below, not necessarily in order –

Supporters ‘Player of the Year’                       JOHN MCKIE

Supporters ‘Young Player of the Year’            RYAN GREGORY

1st XI Managers ‘Player of the Year’               CRAIG INSLEY

Players ‘Player of the Year’                             ED HATT

Bern Jefferys Top Goalscorer                         JARED WETHERICK

Reserves Managers ‘Players of the Year’      ADAM SUNSBURG + SIMON WILLIAMS

Players ‘Player of the Year’                            ALEX WRIGHT

Top Goalscorer                                              CALLUM TAYLOR

‘A’ Team Managers ‘Player of the Year’         OLIVER WEST

Players ‘Player of the Year’                           OLIVER WEST

Top Goalscorer                                              RYAN BRENCHLEY

Frank Gibson Award for Commitment and Endeavor JOE ADAMS   

‘Bert Waters Shield’ Club ‘Young Player of the Year’  JORDAN CHAPMAN &

                                                                                    THOMAS O’BRIEN

‘Most Improved Player’                                 NICHOLAS VYSE

‘Club-man of the Year’                                  PAUL COSHELL

Joining the 200 club                                     GARETH BRICKNELL

John Gorman was also asked to present a cup and certificate to PETER JEFFERY after COWES SPORTS FC were voted winners of the Sydenhams Football League ‘Programme of the Year’ award for Division One.

Dean Ray then gave a short speech and presented ROGER GOULD with a bottle thanking him for being there every week to run the line although he did question the away game at W + B??

Finally Ian Lee presented a club tie to JOHN GORMAN as thanks for him coming over to present the awards.