Premier Division – Saturday October 10th 2015

csfc-logo1.jpgCSFC Logo 300c            


Attendance – 101

Cowes were looking to bounce back from last weeks disastrous result with a much improved performance. Several changes were made, Max Draper, Simon Williams, Jez Conway all returning to the starting line up. Whitchurch traveled to the Island on the back of a 6 – 0 victory over Bournemouth in their Vase game so were full of confidence.

The visitors got the start they wanted just 5 minutes in when a long ball from defence found DANNY PHILLIPS on the right, keeper Ed Hatt started to come out but stopped, allowing their striker to lob him, although he got a hand to the ball could not prevent it from going into the goal. Ollie Wilson then gave the ball away to Jack McCarthy who fed Danny Phillips who should have doubled their lead, but slid the ball past Ed Hatt and wide of his left post, a let off for the Islanders. Jason Malcolmson then saw his header pushed away to safety by Craig Alford. Cowes got their equaliser in the 35th minute when JORDAN BROWNE fired into the right corner of the Whitchurch goal from just outside of the area. Just three minutes later and the game had been turned on it’s head when DEXTER MALIN rounded the keeper to slot home from close range after Ed Sanders long clearance from defence had been flicked on by Charlie Smeeton.

H-t 2 – 1

Simon Williams had to be replaced at half time by Ben Gregory. Ollie Wilson saw his 25 yard effort pushed away for a corner before the visitors took control. Declan McCarthy fired a shot across the face of the Cowes goal before Scott Hassell’s header was gathered under his bar by Ed Hatt. A Ben Gregory mistake then let in Danny Phillips but he fired wide of goal, then a second mistake gave Danny Phillips and easy lob over Ed Hatt but thankfully it also cleared the crossbar. Jordan Browne then headed wide of target before, with just four minute remaining substitute ZAC GILL headed into the left corner of the Cowes goal to level the scores and deny the home side three points.

Team:- Ed Hatt, Max Draper, Jez Conway, Simon Williams(Ben Gregory 46), Edward Sanders, Nathan Lewis bkd, Jason Malcolmson, Oliver Wilson bkd, Jordan Browne, Dexter Malin, Charlie Smeeton, Subs not used; Joe Adams, Jason Ince, Craig Insley, John McKie

Referee:- Dave Cotton     Assistants – Gary Pratt  +  Mike Misselbrook